Each year, the recipients are chosen by a selection committee prior to October 15.

Selection Committee:

The selection committee includes the Chair and Vice-Chair of Women in Law Leadership, as well as representatives from the judiciary, a representative from the University of Alberta or University of Calgary’s Faculty of Law, and the President of the Canadian Bar Association – Alberta Branch or designate.

Selection Criteria:

The nominees in each category will be evaluated on criteria including the following: vision and leadership; impact on other lawyers; mentoring other women lawyers; dedication; initiative; career accomplishments and results achieved. In addition to the listed criteria, nominees in each category will be evaluated on criteria specific to that category. If a nominee is not selected in the nomination year, her nomination will be considered in the following year, unless she withdraws in writing.

The selection committee may choose not to make an award in every category in any given year.

Lifetime Achievement Award:

The selection committee may, in its discretion, select a member of the legal profession with a connection to Alberta to receive a Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition and celebration of the significant accomplishments over the course of the recipient’s career.